Launching PyQt apps in macOS at login

I wish to release a PyQt app using fbs for macOS. The app will be a utility that sits in the menubar and needs to launch on login across all user accounts.

I have found some tutorials and packages online for doing this with Swift/Objective-C, but there is not much guidance on how to do this with Python (PyQt/fbs).

Can anyone shed some light on this or point me to a resource that could be helpful?

Alternatively, I could create a Swift app that executes the PyQt app on login, but I want to avoid this if possible.

Hi @josh welcome to the forum!

I’ve never done this before, but it should be possible from Python. When trying to do something like this it’s often a good idea to see how you would go about doing it from the command line.

If you search for adding a startup application from the Terminal you can find this answer on Stack Exchange. That describes launch daemons (start at boot) and launch agents (start at login) and gives instructions for the former, but it’s the latter you want for user applications. Rather than add these to /System/Library they need to go in the per-user library folder, under /Users/<username>/Library/LaunchAgents.

If you have an existing .plist you can copy and edit that, or just use the following. This is a .plist which will run the Moonsweeper example app installed in the /Applications folder.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
        <key>Label</key>
        <string>com.learnpyqt.moonsweeper</string>
        <key>LimitLoadToSessionType</key>
        <string>Aqua</string>
        <key>ProgramArguments</key>
        <array>
                <string>/Applications/Moonsweeper.app/Contents/MacOS/Moonsweeper</string>
        </array>
        <key>RunAtLoad</key>
        <true/>
        <key>StandardErrorPath</key>
        <string>/dev/null</string>