More details regarding "Embedding custom widgets from Qt Designer" and "Creating custom GUI widgets in PyQt5"

I am new to python. After reading “Embedding custom widgets from Qt Designer”, I tried to embed matplotlib into the GUI. I followed the steps until the changing header name in the “promote” step, I entered matplotlib but there is an error msg " cannot import name ‘PlotWidget’ from ‘matplotlib’ (C:\ProgramData\Anaconda3\lib\site-packages\matplotlib_init_.py)"

I tried matplotlib.plot for the header name then it showed
“cannot import name ‘PlotWidget’ from ‘matplotlib.pyplot’ (C:\ProgramData\Anaconda3\lib\site-packages\matplotlib\pyplot.py)”

Is it possible to add more explanations about the correct name of the head in the article? I tried pyqtgraph and it works. I have no idea why it doesn’t work.

I also tried to refer to “Creating custom GUI widgets in PyQt5”. However, I have no idea how to apply the new gui widget in another new main window. I hope there would be more steps and explanations.

Could I know if your book would include more details of those steps?
Thank you very much.

Hi @Revox_Dyna welcome to the forum! Sorry for the delay in getting back to you, I’ve just had a baby and things are a bit busy.

The problem here is that PlotWidget isn’t a matplotlib class, it’s from PyQtGraph which is a different library. To embed matplotlib you would need to use the matplotlib canvas class.

There is another tutorial on matplotlib which shows the class to use – FigureCanvasQTAgg which is imported as follows.

from matplotlib.backends.backend_qt5agg import FigureCanvasQTAgg

We can compare that to PyQtGraph, where the PlotWidget is imported as follows.

from pyqtgraph import PlotWidget