Structuring a Large PyQt Application

I am an NVH Engineer and I am learning Python. Historically I have used Labview and other commercial software in my work life. I like that there is so much work that has been done developing code for NVH analysis in python.

I would like to make open-source GUI applications that can harness a lot of the work that has been done. The first thing I want to tackle is a Time Data Recorder application. functionally it would operate similarly to this commercial product.

HDF5 - Data Storage
pyacq - Possible acquisition framework
GUI - Develop in PySide2

I was thinking about something like this for gui skeleton

and this for the TDR App inside it

I am looking for some help with directory and software structure. I have the main layout working in code (buttons don’t do anything yet). Any thought would be helpful

Timm

Hi tcarson4344

Indeed, it is a large PyQt application that you plan to design. :wink:

Personally, I can give a part of answer because, even I have planned to make a big (for me) application in another domain than you, I have studied a bit the question.

On the left part, you’ll need a QListWidget and on the right part a QStackedWidget and probably a QStackedLayout. This latter is not sure. A bit like this.

About the structure, usually I used this one: (after it is done for Linux only) I don’t know for Macos and Windwos.

For the root package (i.e the folder of the application herself), I introduce a start_app file (which run the application) and share files in different folders according to their membership ui, translations, window etc …

This thread on Stackoverflow will be helpful for you. You have even a project structure proposed.

I hope that will help you.

1 Like

@Eolinwen,

Thank you this is helpful.
Does something like this seem reasonable?

β”œβ”€β”€ main.py
β”œβ”€β”€ ui_main.py
β”œβ”€β”€ Modules
β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ Time_Data_Recorder
β”‚   β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ TDR.py
β”‚   β”‚   β”œβ”€β”€ ui_TDR.py